Cosmopolitan weeds…I knew I would get your attention! I have seen this term a few times researching weeds-what else right-in the “Common Weeds of the United States”by the USDA.Not really knowing what it meant other than they were big city weeds.That was my image.I figured that was probably not right,but it was a cool term.I was reading “Weeds” -Richard Mabey-when I discovered the real meaning-this man gets into the thick of ecology.Here we go..From Stephan Meyer-“The End of the Wild”-“Ecosystems will organize around a human motif,the wild will give way to the predictable,the common,the usual”Now Richard Mabey-“‘This is happening already.Even by the early twentieth century, many common weeds were virtually cosmopolitan.Bracken,chickweed,knotgrass,curled dock,stinging nettle,and bindweed,for example,-familliar British natives-occur on all five continents.The commonest weeds of cities in Europe,North America,and Australia are virtually identical”One world-One weed.”In wildness is the preservation of the world”-Thoreau.Note on pics-the first five are in order from Mabey’s list of cosmo weeds and from Wikipedia and the last one is from me.

800px-Tylerfinvold023_bracken_ferns220px-Polygonum-coccineum800px-StellariaMedia001Rumex_crispus_vallee-de-grace-amiens_80_12062007_3220px-Brennnessel_1wpid-wp-1408203347745.jpeg

2 thoughts on “Cosmopolitan weeds…I knew I would get your attention! I have seen this term a few times researching weeds-what else right-in the “Common Weeds of the United States”by the USDA.Not really knowing what it meant other than they were big city weeds.That was my image.I figured that was probably not right,but it was a cool term.I was reading “Weeds” -Richard Mabey-when I discovered the real meaning-this man gets into the thick of ecology.Here we go..From Stephan Meyer-“The End of the Wild”-“Ecosystems will organize around a human motif,the wild will give way to the predictable,the common,the usual”Now Richard Mabey-“‘This is happening already.Even by the early twentieth century, many common weeds were virtually cosmopolitan.Bracken,chickweed,knotgrass,curled dock,stinging nettle,and bindweed,for example,-familliar British natives-occur on all five continents.The commonest weeds of cities in Europe,North America,and Australia are virtually identical”One world-One weed.”In wildness is the preservation of the world”-Thoreau.Note on pics-the first five are in order from Mabey’s list of cosmo weeds and from Wikipedia and the last one is from me.

Leave a Reply

