Thoreau for your Tuesday…

The phenomena of the year take place every day in a pond on a small scale…One pleasant morning after a cold night,February 24th,1850,having gone to Flint’s Pond to spend the day,I noticed with surprise, that when I struck the ice with the head of my axe, it resounded like a gong for many rods around…One attraction in coming to the woods to live was that I should have leisure and opportunity to see the Spring come in.The ice in the pond at length begins to be honeycombed, and I can set my heel in it as I walk…I am on alert for the first sign of spring, to hear the chance note of some arriving bird,or the striped squirrel’s chip,for his stores must be now nearly exhausted…Walden,1854-Spring.

230px-Henry_David_Thoreau

Leave a Reply

