Thoreau for your Tuesday…

I had this advantage,at least in my mode of life,over those who were obliged to look abroad for amusement,to society and the theater,that my life itself was become my amusement and never cease to be novel.It was a drama of many scenes and without an end.If we were always indeed getting our living, and regulating our lives according to the last and best mode we had learned,we would never be troubled with ennui…Housework was a pleasant pastime.When my floor was dirty,I rose early,and, setting all my furniture out of doors on the grass…and by the time the villagers had broken their fast the morning sun had dried my house…and my meditations were almost uninterrupted.”Sounds”-Walden 1854.

230px-Henry_David_Thoreau

Walden-Pond-OP-600

Leave a Reply

