Thoreau for your Wednesday…

Nature

O nature I do not aspire to be the highest in the quire,

To be a meteor in the sky or comet that may range on high.

Only a zephyr that may blow among the reeds by the river low.

Give me thy most privy place where to run my airy race.

In some withdrawn unpublic meaci let me sigh upon a reed,

or in the woods with leafy din whisper the evening in,

For I had rather be thy child and pupil in the forest `wild

Than be the king of men elsewhere and most sovereign slave of care

To have one moment of thy dawn than share the city’s year forlorn.

Some still work me to do only be it near you.Poems-Walden

230px-Henry_David_Thoreauun-climate-warming-talks-earth

Leave a Reply

